ITIL Foundation

About this course

This three-day course provides IT managers, practitioners, support staff and staff interfacing with the information systems function with a practical understanding of the key concepts, principles, processes and functions that enables successful IT service management provision. It also prepares delegates for the ITIL Foundation Certificate Examination. The course is based on the ITIL best practice service lifecycle approach featured in the latest 2011 guidelines.

You will gain knowledge of the internationally-recognised best practice terminology, structure, basic concepts, and the core principles of ITIL practices for service management to fully prepare you for the ITIL Foundation examination.

From 1 January 2018 all new ITIL® Foundation certificates will include one year’s subscription to ITIL Membership..

This course is intended for:

This course is primarily for IT managers, practitioners and support staff involved in the strategy, design, and implementation and on-going support and delivery of business IT services. It also proves useful for those interfacing with information systems who require an insight into service management best practice. This may include Business Analysts, Business Relationship Managers, Project and Programme staff

After completing this course, students will be able to:

After completing this course, you will be able to:

    • Understand how an integrated IT service management framework, based on ITIL 2011 best practice guidelines, can be adopted and adapted within their own organisations
    • Successfully introduce an integrated IT service management framework based on the ITIL best practice service lifecycle approach
    • Be prepared for the ITIL foundation certificate exam



There are no specific prerequisites for the ITIL Foundation course.

Course Outline

Session 1 – overview of ITIL and service management

  • Objectives
  • What is service management?
  • What are services?
  • Early history of ITIL and the future of ITIL?
  • ITIL examination bodies
  • Complimentary standards and publications
  • Why is good practice needed?
  • Benchmarking
  • Overview of the ITIL service lifecycle stages
  • Functions, processes and roles explained
  • Topic quiz


Session 2 – service strategy

  • Session objectives including an overview and introduction to service strategy
  • Key concepts within service strategy
  • The service portfolio and the service catalogue
  • Topic quiz
  • Service strategy processes
  • Components of value and value creation
  • Service portfolio management process and roles
  • Demand management process and roles
  • Generic roles, service owner, process owner, process manager, process practitioner, product manager and the business relationship manager role


Session 3 – service design

  • Overview of service design
  • Topic quiz
  • Supplier and lervice level management
  • Service catalogue management
  • Availability management
  • Information security management
  • Capacity management
  • IT Service continuity management
  • Design coordination


Session 4 – service transition

  • Overview of the service transition stage of the service lifecycle
  • Topic quiz
  • Service transition processes
  • Roles involved with service transition activities
  • Session summary


Session 5 – service operation

  • Overview of the service operation stage of the service lifecycle
  • Topic quiz
  • Incident management process, problem management, event management, request fulfillment, access management methods, activities and tools, generic process activities
  • Service desk and other functions
  • Session summary


Session 6 – continual service improvement

  • Overview of the continual service improvement stage of the service lifecycle
  • CSI tools and techniques including the deming cycle, CSI model and the CSI register
  • 7 Step improvement process model
  • Roles involved in CSI
  • Session summary


Session 7 – technology and architecture

  • Objectives for use of technology and tools
  • Tool evaluation and tool selection process considerations
  • Tools and technology across the service lifecycle stages
  • Session summary


Session 8 – ITIL qualification scheme and exam technique

Certification and Exam Information

The ‘Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management’ is the first exam in the ITIL Service Management series of exams, and is a pre-requisite for the all other ITIL-based certificates in IT service management.

  • Multiple choice examination questions
  • 40 questions
  • 26 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) – 65%
  • 60 minutes’ duration
  • Closed book.



Exam is included in the course fee.